Home > News > IMPH Gradation Ceremony 2013-2014 > M.Sc. Agriculture Closing students
Shopping cart Shopping cart (0 items)

M.Sc. Agriculture Closing students


Roshan Kanal, Second Secretary at the Embassy of Nepal, speaking to the assembled  students at their degree ceremony at the Rehovot campus, commented on how much could be learnt from Israel during her address to the graduating classes of the Hebrew University’s international Master’s in Animal Sciences and Nutritional Sciences of the Division for  International  Studies at the Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment.

The graduating classes comprised 24 students from Botswana, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, India, Kenya, Mexico Nepal, Nigeria, Uganda and the United States. Since the opening of the first one-year programme in 1997, 174 M.Sc. degrees have been awarded in Plant, Nutritional, and Animal Sciences, while some 2,200 students have studied in the Division’s other programs. Many students continue to higher degrees – eleven of the 24 students will continue to a M.Sc. thesis track at the Faculty; previous students have gone on to doctorates – and subsequently take up senior scientific and administrative positions in their home countries and in international organizations.

Prof. Rina Meidan, representing the Faculty Dean, and Chair of the M.Sc. Committee and later Dr. Aliza Stark, Co-Chair of the Committee expressed their gratitude to the donors of scholarships, whose generosity had enabled the students to come to Israel and to the University. Dina Gidron, Israel representative of the Pears Foundation, which also provides pivotal scholarship and alumni organization support to the parallel IMPH program at the Faculty of Medicine, told the audience of students, staff and friends that the Foundation regarded these initiatives as flagship programs that not only benefitted the students but also Israel and she enjoined the graduates to be active participants in the Pears Alumni network in the years to come. Susie Fraser, representing the Jonny Fraser Memorial Scholarship Fund, described her late brother’s passion for helping people in the developing world.

On behalf of the graduating students Joseph Kungu of Uganda, Hania Taha from East Jerusalem and Omeyani Taiwo Sangotikun from Nigeria praised the program’s teachers and administrators and thanked the foundations and individuals that had endowed scholarships.

Scholarships for the programmes are provided by: the Pears Foundation (UK); Mauerberger Foundation Fund (South Africa); Bonita Trust (Gibralter); Jonny Fraser Memorial Scholarship Fund (United Kingdom); Mrs. Evelene Wechsler (USA); Claude Salomon Scholarship Fund (Mexico); Mrs. Isabel Adler (USA); Foundation Marcelle and Jean Coutu (Canada).



Print Print this page Email Send to a friend